• Twitter

  • 20something Bloggers

  • Categories

  • Flickr Photos

    more faves

    recent faves

    flowers!

    bed

    Ponce Inlet lighthouse

    stairs

    More Photos

History repeats…

I was pointed to a great opinion piece in the Los Angeles Times on Sunday called Are the Millenials the new GI Generation?, and I have to agree with it.

Being 25, I am most obviously a Millenial (Generation Y is the more common term for Millenial; people born between 1980 and 1988), a product of the Baby Boomer generation, meaning my grandparents were the GI Generation. My grandparents grew up during one of the worst periods of time – during the Great Depression (and the wars). For a high school history project, I interviewed my grandparents about life during the 30s, 40s and early 50s, and I remember their answers being that they didn’t have cars, cell phones, computers. They were lucky to have jobs (that they walked to), to have family, and to have food on the table at night. I remember thinking to myself, “okay, at least I’m growing up without any major wars, with computers, cell phones are just coming out,”…etc. You get the picture. I was lucky to grow up in the 1990s and to graduate from college in 2006. OR WAS I?

See, history is repeating itself right now. I didn’t grow up in the 30s so I can’t say for sure that it’s as bad now as it was then, but this is one horrible economic climate we are living in. I have read about this in other articles, and I know it to be true, that Gen Yers are the first generation to be making the same or less than their own parents. It’s so true. However, I know I’m young and that’s a blessing right now. Because I’m young enough for things to turn back around (several times if history continues to repeat), I know that if I can get through right now – the next 5 years – I can get through anything.

Thanks to Dan Schawbel for pointing out the article.

UPDATED 6.24.09USA Today has a great article about the new “Recession Generation.” This paragraph nailed my thoughts above:

“The Millennial generation, or Gen Y, ranges from people in their 20s to those still in grade school. But what they all have in common is the knowledge that the recession has in some way shattered the world they thought they knew. And, depending upon how long the downturn lasts, historians, economists and psychologists say it could shape Millennials’ values and attitudes in much the same way the Depression shaped the attitudes of those growing up in the 1930s.”

Read the article here.

Leave a Reply

