• Twitter

  • 20something Bloggers

  • Categories

  • Flickr Photos

PEACE Update

So, remember back in December ’08 when I chose my one little word to live by in 2009? And I just happened to choose peace? Well, I’m really thankful that I did. For many reasons, but it’s become especially clear to me over the past week with everything that’s been going on in Iran. [UPDATED: Here is a great Q&A about what is happening in Iran if you are interested.] If you follow me on Twitter, you know how I felt the other day when all the Iran updates starting flowing massively. I posted this:

 Learning about what’s going on in Iran. Feel lucky to be an American. Lucky that my vote counted. Lucky that we’re the land of the FREE.

And if I could have had a few more characters, I would have finished with “And the home of the BRAVE.” (That reminds me…stay tuned later this week for a post about the National Anthem – it’s gonna be a good one.)

But besides all the Iran happenings, I have stumbled upon 2 separate quotes about peace in the last 7 days. The first I came across on Facebook, which a friend had posted as a status update:

“Does anyone want to live a life that is long and prosperous? Then keep your tongue from speaking evil and your lips from telling lies! Turn away from evil and do good. Search for peace, and work to maintain it!” (Psalms 34:12-14)

The second I found in my daily quotes, and it’s this:

 “Tragedy stays alive by feeling what’s done to us, while peace comes alive by living with the results.” Mark Nepo

I think that was a sign for me to think back on my word peace and what it means to me. It means being happy and content, being grateful for the country we live in, being proud of my decisions and dealing with the results of things that do not go as planned. What does it mean to you?

Leave a Reply

