• Twitter

  • 20something Bloggers

  • Categories

  • Flickr Photos

Recommended Reading

Last weekend when I pulled out my trusty Suze Orman book, The Money Book for the Young, Fabulous and Broke, it got me thinking about all the other books I love and have recommended or given as gifts.

To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee – the best book I was ever required to read in school. I hate that this has ended up on a banned books list (and that’s another topic for another day) because of the racial issues but that’s part of what makes this book so great – the issues. I also think a lot about childhood friendships and pre-conceived notions.

One True Thing by Anna Quindlen – I didn’t love this book until the very end, which surprised me. It’s a great story about family, particularly mother-daughter relationships.

The Last Lecture by Randy Pausch – Truly an inspiring read from a professor, lecturer, husband, father, colleague and so much more. He was in his forties when he was diagnosed with cancer, and set out to leave a legacy for his children through his book full of life lessons. Although he lived longer than expected, he died last July at the age of 47. If you haven’t already, you should watch his lecture on YouTube. (WARNING: The video is over an hour long, but you don’t need to watch the entire thing to get a grasp on him.)

The Audacity of Hope by Barack Obama – You can read all about my thoughts on this book here, but to sum it up, it’s an incredible read. The President is so articulate, so educated, and so innovative. It still gives me chills when I see pictures from the campaign trail, or from Inauguration Day. The book is really a look at what exactly he believes in and why is so driven to change politics in America. For anyone who still doesn’t understand him, I’d say this book will answer your questions.

My Sister’s Keeper by Jodi Picoult – The first Picoult novel I ever read, and also the best. This book tells the heartbreaking story of a young girl with cancer through the eyes of each family member. It’s been made into a movie starring Cameron Diaz which I believe opens in the next couple of weeks.

Tuesdays with Morrie by Mitch Albom – I’m pretty sure this is the first book that made me cry. It’s a true story of a man and his mentor, who is dying from a terminal illness. It was so inspiring, yet so sad.

The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald – Oh, the story of Jay Gatsby and Daisy Buchanan set in the jazz age. Boy meets girl, falls in love, heads off to war, returns to news that his girl has married someone else. So what does he do? He uses his millions to buy a great house, throws lavish parties and lures her in.

Good to Great by Jim Collins – I started reading this book as I started my career, and it’s got great stories of companies leading change and taking their businesses from “good to great.” I found it a little tough to read at times, but it’s full of  great examples and rules to live by (in business and in life).

Do you have any recommendations for me?

Leave a Reply

