• Twitter

  • 20something Bloggers

  • Categories

  • Flickr Photos

Reading with new purpose

So recently I started this “get well, live healthy” kick, and not just with fitness and food, but with education and reading as well. I’ve been considering going back to school for my Masters, although that’s not what this post is about.
 
I’ve been trying to just educate myself. I feel like there is a wealth of good information out there that doesn’t necessarily come in a textbook, or a classroom, especially on topics such as finances, career development, and life as a young professional. Recently I downloaded a copy of an ebook called The Young Professional Rockstar: 10 steps to rocking your career right now (get yours here!) and I’m trying to really learn from it. Sometimes I feel like I fly through books so fast I take nothing away from it.
 
Also fairly recently I’ve been reading a new blog, Sources of Insight, and I just found a really short ebook called You 2.0: Finding and Living Your Process (read more here). This topic is really speaking to me right now as I sort out my career and my priorities and the life I want for myself (and for my life with Kevin).
 
I’m also pulling out my trusty Suze Orman book, The Money Book for the Young, Fabulous and Broke to read again. My best friend bought me this book for my birthday almost 2 years ago, and it’s such a great book. I really like Suze’s style: she’s straightforward, no bullshit. And she should be. Some of the questions she receives from callers on her show just blow my mind. It’s like, “really? You are asking if you can afford this, and you have $20,000 in credit card debt?!” But I like her philosophy: people first, then money, then things. It’s a good mantra, really.
2 Responses

  1. I wish books like that caught my attention or could keep my interest long enough to read them. I think I could learn alot that I need to know if I could get into them.

  2. […] Top Posts Who do you look like? Mosaic Monday Mosaic MondayReading with new purpose […]

Leave a Reply

