• Twitter

  • 20something Bloggers

  • Categories

  • Flickr Photos

    more faves

    recent faves

    flowers!

    bed

    Ponce Inlet lighthouse

    stairs

    More Photos

Life Changes

I’m not moving, I’m not gettin’ hitched, I don’t have a baby on the way. Don’t worry, it’s not that drastic.

But I’ve been waiting for a post like this for a long time. Something to give me some extra motivation and really kick my butt in gear. I have been making gradual changes to my life, like reading more career blogs and books, and really thinking about what’s ahead, and starting to exercise more, etc., but I wasn’t truly dedicated to changing until I read this. I am focusing first on healthy living. Which includes not just more exercising, but more activity in general, and better food choices. Less liquor, more fruits & veggies and less eating out.

This weekend sort of set things in motion for me; I’ve had the most active weekend I’ve had in a long time. So long, that I can’t remember when I last faced this much exercise! I’m not even joking. On Saturday morning, I participated in the local Asthma Walk for the American Lung Association, which included a not-so-easy 2.5 mile walk up hills and bridges and in nearly 90 degree weather and humidity. It was great exercise though, and I got to chat with fellow young professionals. Kevin and I actually headed to the driving range after I got home, too – I’ve been bugging him to go with me since he’s been trying to perfect his golf game lately. I have always gone to the driving range for fun, but never took it seriously until now. I never wanted to take it seriously until now.

We were a little sore this morning but still set out to a small town near the ocean for a 2 hour bike ride. It was awesome! We took in the sights (the lighthouse, the mansions, the beautiful landscaping, the natural wildlife) and got really great exercise, and some sun – it was near 90 again today. We didn’t stop there! We went to another golf course, right down the road from home, and hit a couple buckets of balls on the range and then practiced putting. Kevin was pretty good with me too – helping me with my swing and even seeing me through my absolute frustration when I couldn’t get it right. Eventually I connected with the ball and became a little more consistent, and even hit it farther than him a couple of times!

After a long weekend full of all-day in the sun activities, we are both exhausted. I’m currently on the couch watching my beloved Red Wings as they vie for the Stanley Cup, Jak lounging next to me, and Kevin’s in the office playing a game (or something nerdy). Sigh. Life is good.

And life is changing. What are you changing?

3 Responses

  1. You’ve inspired me (yet again) from across the country. I just moved to DC, and I’m still looking for a job which is disheartening. But I really can use this time to explore the city and get more natural exercise. Thanks!

  2. Ah, Court, DC is a great place to walk, run & explore!! I’m jealous you’re living in the captiol at this exciting time. Thanks for stopping by 🙂

  3. […] Posts Who do you look like? Life ChangesMonday […]

Leave a Reply

