• Twitter

  • 20something Bloggers

  • Categories

  • Flickr Photos

    more faves

    recent faves

    flowers!

    bed

    Ponce Inlet lighthouse

    stairs

    More Photos

Be careful what you wish for…

…you just might get it.

We’ve had drought conditions here in Central Florida for months, and the fires were starting to break out more and more. I work near a fire station, and every day I’d cringe as the fire condition meter was always at “extremely high.” I’ve been wishing for rain for weeks, because my grass wasn’t growing very quickly and wasn’t as lush and green as it should be. So, we went to Michigan last weekend where it was cold and rainy for a day or so, and what do we get when we return? RAIN, RAIN, and MORE RAIN.

I’m not even kidding. It’s been raining JUST ABOUT NON-STOP since we were ON the plane to Orlando and were re-routed and landed late due to thunderstorms. A low pressure system is basically hovering near the ocean and continues to circle, dumping rain on our area. It is now Thursday morning and the rain has finally subsided, BUT forecasters are calling for another round of showers today. My county is flooded in several cities, including many of the main roads I travel daily. I know that we needed this rain, and I’m thankful for it, but I did not ask for buckets and buckets of it! ALL AT ONCE.

The winds are quite high as well, as in, I can’t use an umbrella unless it’s a special one designed specifically for wind. I don’t have a rain coat, and my work shoes stay wet for at least an hour after I walk in the door in the morning. And let’s not even talk about my hair and all that craziness. It’s a mess.

I’d take a picture but I don’t want my camera to get wet when I step outside. And I’m not letting you see this hair. Just pray for NO RAIN! (And if you really want pictures, visit the local newspaper‘s website. Pretty much sums it up.)

Leave a Reply

