• Twitter

  • 20something Bloggers

  • Categories

  • Flickr Photos

    more faves

    recent faves

    flowers!

    bed

    Ponce Inlet lighthouse

    stairs

    More Photos

Blessing in disguise

In 2007, I was determined to do something I never thought I’d attempt.

I wanted (actually still do want, someday at least) to start my own business. I applied for several business loans between October 2007 and February 2008, and I couldn’t figure out why I continued to be denied. Granted, I don’t have any collateral (I don’t even own my car – I lease it; Suze Orman would kill me) and I have debt…even though it’s mostly student loans. But still, I couldn’t get a loan, and I became extremely disappointed. Even though I know I could have made my business successful, I realize now that I was probably one of those people who are now in over their heads with loans. People who are struggling to make ends meet because they borrowed more than they could afford. People who may be facing foreclosure, or who was forced to close their business because of the economic downturn.

I put that dream on holdand now I have a job that’s allowing me to make tons of connections and gain great work experience. And my not getting a business loan was truly a blessing in disguise, because what would I be doing right now if my business wasn’t successful? Isn’t it funny how things turn out?

Leave a Reply

