• Twitter

  • 20something Bloggers

  • Categories

  • Flickr Photos

World Autism Awareness Day

Today, April 2, is World Autism Awareness Day.

The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention has stated that autism is a national public health crisis. The organization Autism Speaks states that autism has increased tenfold in the past 10 years, and that 1 in 150 children born in the U.S. will be diagnosed with an autism spectrum disorder.

I think most everyone is aware that Jenny McCarthy has increased awareness of autism, with her son’s diagnosis and her subsequent books regarding the subject, and with her organization Generation Rescue. I recently finished reading her latest book, Mother Warriors, and I just had to get out all the thoughts swirling in my head regarding autism.

I do believe there is a link between autism and vaccines. Before you judge my beliefs, know this: I am not against vaccines. I am for making them greener.

Head to my book blog for my review/thoughts on the book. And I encourage you to share your views. We may not all agree, but we can certainly raise awareness of the subject by talking about it. This subject cannot be ignored.

Leave a Reply

