• Twitter

  • 20something Bloggers

  • Categories

  • Flickr Photos

Getting back into the groove

Workout groove that is.

I tend to go in cycles where I’ll be really diligent about working out, then I’m lax for a few weeks…or months. I really hated how cold it was this winter, and that was part of the reason I never got to the gym as much as I should have. But now that spring is here, I’m in full gear. Something about realizing I’ll be wearing a bikini in a couple short months really got me going. Some other things that have gotten me moving:

My new shoes that I purchased a couple months ago – they are slowly being broken in and I love putting them on!

Motivational blogs such as Chic Runner – she is amazing! I love hearing about her races and she even posts weekly deals for exercise clothing and gear. Her recent post about her running music inspired me to create a whole new workout playlist – which leads me to this:

My new playlist. It’s got everything from old school rock to hip hop and rap crap that I normally don’t listen to but that sometimes gets my blood going. Here’s a sampling from my new playlist:

  • Fergie’s Fergalicious & Glamorous
  • I Don’t Wanna be in Love by Good Charlotte
  • Old school Lauryn Hill – like Lost Ones and Doo Wop
  • some of Kevin’s new favorite alternative bands, like Can’t Hang, High Tide, Ballyhoo (search for them on itunes and if you’re like me, they make you long for the Keys and margaritas)
  • a little bit of girly rock from Ashlee Simpson and Kelly Clarkson
  • Don’t Stop Believin’ by Journey (you knew this was coming)
  • Come Out and Play by the Offspring
  • Start Me Up by the Rolling Stones
  • California Love by Tupac – see, I told you there was some rap…this reminds me of high school. Should just add some No Scrubs by TLC while I’m at it, right?

Soccer season has started again, so I’m getting a great cardio mix of distance running and sprinting, which is definitely helping my legs. I’ve also been doing lunges and squats and I’m thisclose to having Michelle Obama arms. JUST KIDDING. I only wish. Now I just have to stop eating so much. It’s harder than you think. Damn those Girl Scout cookies.

While we’re on the subject of getting fit, Leo had an awesome post on his Zen Habits blog yesterday – 17 arse-kicking strategies to stick to your diet and get fit.  He sums it up well by saying “Don’t diet, but do stick to a healthy diet, in other words.” Couldn’t agree more Leo.

Leave a Reply

