• Twitter

  • 20something Bloggers

  • Categories

  • Flickr Photos

Sports News

You’d have to be living in a cave to not have heard that A-Rod tested positive for steroids in 2003. I know the news is a little old by now, but the issue is still on my mind. My boyfriend was a baseball player, so maybe that’s why I’m still thinking about it. I know the league was not supposed to announce which 104 players exactly were on the list, but now that it’s come out that A-Rod was one of them, does it make it better that he apologized?

I don’t think so. First he used. Then he lied about it. Now he wants us to forgive and forget, right? But what about the other 103 players on that list who were NOT outed? Don’t you think they’re getting away with too much? I say, why not release the names? Make those players known. That way maybe baseball can actually move on, as Curt Schilling points out on his blog. And give those talented athletes who do not use performance enhancing drugs a better name.

Stories like this just piss me off, because they shine a negative light on baseball and its players. You can’t lump all baseball players together, and you shouldn’t. There are those who are great. And there are those who cheat.

In other sports news, Brett Favre retired. Again. I really did like watching his career, and my father had the opportunity to meet him 2 years ago after a Packers-Lions game, and said he was a great guy, shaking hands, saying hello, etc. But I have to admit that I lost a little bit of respect for him after last year’s retirement saga. Anyone else feel the same way?

Leave a Reply

