• Twitter

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • 20something Bloggers

  • Categories

  • Flickr Photos

Fear + doubt

Last weekend I read a lot of Suze Orman’s 2009 Action Plan, and a couple sentences really resonated with me.

pg. 45 – “The biggest risk to your retirement security is giving in to your emotions. When fear and doubt are in control, you may make decisions that feel “right” for 2009, but they will hurt your long term retirement strategy.”

The same can be said for just about every situation in life. Recently I have been struggling with some issues related to work, and looking back, I really wasn’t taking the right approach to the situation. I let my emotions – fear and doubt – take over and I lost control. Fear and doubt are the most common emotions that I personally feel; fear of failure I think is par for the course for most perfectionists, and I am definitely one of those types. But I didn’t take a step back to think clearly before tackling the issues. I came to the wrong conclusions because my emotions guided me.

Another personal goal for me this year will be to step back from the situation before leaping with my emotions. I have found that when I put some distance between myself and the problem – letting my emotions check out for awhile – I can find a solution that was not clear before. And if that doesn’t work, I can fully assess any problem much better on a full night’s sleep (should be obvious right?).

I have a sneaking suspicion that many people will live their lives in fear of something this year; it’s hard not to as we face this economic crisis, and I’m curious how others are coping. Not just with financial matters, but with work struggles, with personal issues and the like. We all have fears. We all wish we were a little better at something or a little more in control of something. Now that you know my fears, will you share yours?

Leave a Reply

