• Twitter

  • 20something Bloggers

  • Categories

  • Flickr Photos

    more faves

    recent faves

    flowers!

    bed

    Ponce Inlet lighthouse

    stairs

    More Photos

The price of beauty

I’ll prelude this story by saying that Kevin takes long showers. Longer than me. Longer than my sister. Longer than just about every girl I know.

Last weekend after intense workout sessions, I had to shower and get ready quickly to meet some friends. While I was straightening my hair, Kevin decided to go through my bath products. I can’t say for sure what prompted him to do so from behind those shower curtains, but all of a sudden he said “My face…is ON FIRE!” and I immediately knew what he’d gotten into.  This product from Bath & Body.

It’s called True Blue Island Hot Spot Warming Body Scrub. It’s really thick and hard to sqeeze out of the tube and it smells like a huge tanning booth. I received it in a gift bag after being a bridesmaid in a wedding, and I have tried it out a couple times. I must say though, it’s evil! It really does burn your skin, and it really does stink, although it does a hell of a job getting rid of dead skin cells, and – KEVIN WAS WARNED OF ALL THESE SIDE EFFECTS. Anyway, here’s what went down in the bathroom after Kevin put that goo on his face:

Kevin: THIS BURNS!! WHY DO WOMEN USE THIS STUFF?

Me: Babe, most women will do anything for beauty.

Kevin: Well it’s kinda crazy. This BURNS.

Me: And yet, there you are. Using my burning goo.

Kevin: How long do you have to leave this on?

Me: At least 30 seconds..maybe a minute? (I totally made that up, I just wanted to see what he would say.)

Kevin: [gets out of the shower a few minutes later and shows me his face. IT’S BRIGHT RED.] Did it work?!

Me: Absolutely. Your face is smoother already.

His face stayed red for a long time. In fact, he didn’t leave the house the rest of the day. Readers be warned!

Leave a Reply

