• Twitter

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • 20something Bloggers

  • Categories

  • Flickr Photos

One week into the new year

Since my last post about health and finances, I’ve tuned in to some of Oprah’s Best Life series shows to learn a few things. The first thing? My Real Age. This website was created by Oprah’s buddies, Dr. Mehment Oz and Dr. Michael Roizen, and there really are some great tips on the site. The best thing, though, is the RealAge calculator, which quizzes you on your personal and family health history and weighs your answers against your actual age to give you your “real age.” I was very hesitant to take this because although I have always considered myself an athlete, I don’t think I’m as strong as I could be. But, in what was probably the most shocking thing I’ve read in awhile, I scored a 23.9!! (My calendar age is 25.2) The other cool thing is that it generates healthy steps for you to follow based on your answers. It recommends that I get a daily dose of Vitamin C, cut down on red meat (ouch!) and to vary my veggies. Hmm…guess I’ll have to work on that.

On the financial side of my goals, I did open an account with Sharebuilder (ING Direct) – thanks to my financially fit boyfriend Kevin – and I will be taking my chances on the stock market. It can’t be as bad as last year right?! Either way, I’m young enough to rebound from whatever economic woes may be around the corner. Also following up from last time, I wanted you all to know that you can download Suze Orman’s latest book, Suze Orman’s 2009 Action Plan, for FREE, on Oprah’s website until January 15. Go get your copy! Hope you are all doing well on your New Year’s goals one week into 2009!

One final note, I have finished 2 books so far this year! And Daddy Dan has just introduced a Bookworm’s challenge on his blog for 2009!

Leave a Reply

