• Twitter

  • 20something Bloggers

  • Categories

  • Flickr Photos

Happy New Year!

A few days ago, I posted my goals for 2009, but here they are again:

LAUGH more, LOVE more, CAPTURE more, READ more, EXERCISE more, CREATE more.

Along with my plan to exercise more, there’s my plan to just plain get healthy. I fell into a rut of eating out for lunch way too much and drinking Diet Coke way too much, and eating sugary foods WAY. TOO. MUCH. But it’s a new day, a new year, so that means new habits, right?

So, included in that get healthy plan is getting healthy in 3 ways.

Physically. I just need to take better care of my body, and I am planning to use the Wii Fit more, specifically, yoga. I’m not really a graceful person, and yoga is tough for me, but I’m really hoping it will ease my back pain that has been causing me more trouble than I’d like. I also need to work on my posture (yep, just caught myself slouching in my chair. Again.) And, I’m so ashamed to admit this, but I haven’t had an eye exam in at least 10 years. So that’s on my to-do list for 2009. Early 2009. I promise Mom.

Mentally. I have always been a reader, but this year I’d like to read more books out of my comfort zone. Kevin and I went to Barnes + Noble last night and just for kicks I took this picture when we got home. Can you tell which section is mine?

Barnes + Noble shopping spree

Barnes + Noble shopping spree

Not that there is anything wrong with what I choose to read, but Kevin is always chosing nerdy titles, whether it be financial, history or science books. I’m always making fun of his nerdy ways (I say nerd in the most loving way – obviously) but he does choose some good titles! I plan to read some of his financial and history related books in an attempt to become more well-rounded. Sounds easy, right? (PS, please ask me from time to time how I’m doing on this. I need some accountability here.)

Financially. I’ve been more frugal than ever in the past 6 months and I’m loving it! (Before you say anything about the BN spree…we used gift cards.) But simply being frugal is not enough. I am taking the plunge and investing in the stock market this year. So I’ll probably be reading some nerdy financial book (see stack above) by the time you are done reading this post. While we are on the topic of money, I came across a blog the other day with a good post about Suze Orman’s latest money book, Suze Orman’s 2009 Action Plan. Apparently Suze Orman is scheduled to appear on Oprah next week, and a copy of her latest book will be FREE (downloadable version) through the Oprah website for 1 week after the show. Read the press release for more details. I can’t wait to see what financial advice Suze has to offer this time around.

What are your goals for 2009?

3 Responses

  1. Nice stack of books. Great mix. Good luck with the goals. They sound a lot like mine. Happy New Year!

  2. […] week into the new year Posted on January 8, 2009 by Katie Since my last post about health and finances, I’ve tuned in to some of Oprah’s Best Life series shows to […]

  3. […] Posted on February 3, 2009 by Katie About 30 days ago I shared with you some of my goals for 2009. Now that we are 3 days into February (seriously, where does the […]

Leave a Reply

