• Twitter

  • 20something Bloggers

  • Categories

  • Flickr Photos

    more faves

    recent faves

    flowers!

    bed

    Ponce Inlet lighthouse

    stairs

    More Photos

one little word

I got this project from Ali Edwards (who else?!) and I will be participating in this. And also – I thought of my word before I even realized that she choose the same word in 2007!

I’ve really been striving for more meaningful in the last couple months. With the way I think, write, speak, do.  It’s just better for me. I need to really be in the moment and appreciate, and that’s my hope in this ‘one little word’ project. The goal is to showcase my word prominently where I am constantly reminded and really use it in my everyday life. I will be checking in on my blog every now and then with my progress, thoughts about it, situations, etc.

I debated between a few words, including create. I thought about create because of where I am in my career – design + layout projects – and in my newfound hobby of photography, and in my obsession with Flickr. However, I chose something else that was speaking to me more than create.

My word?

Peace.

Definition/meaning of peace from Wikipedia: “most commonly refers to an absence of hostility,” safety in matters of social or economic welfare, the acknowledgement of equality and fairness, reflected in a non-violent lifestyle which also describes a relationship between any people characterized by respect, justice and goodwill, “quiet” – calm, serene, and meditative approach, an absence of disturbance or agitation.

Also from Wikipedia: “Peace is a state of balance and understanding in yourself and between others where respect is gained by the acceptance of differences, tolerance persists, conflicts are resolved through dialogue, people’s rights are respected and their voices are heard, and everyone is at their highest point of serenity without social tension.”

I personally see peace as a combination of the above, but my first thoughts where hearing the word are serenity, balance, contentment, and present.

I think peace is also going to mean something in light of the presidential inauguration to be held later in January. I feel like 2009 is going to be a great year. I look forward to all of my opportunities to grow.

With that, good-bye 2008 and hello 2009!

Wishing you a safe and Happy New Year!

3 Responses

  1. […] Posted on June 16, 2009 by Katie So, remember back in December ‘08 when I chose my one little word to live by in 2009? And I just happened to choose peace? Well, I’m really thankful that I […]

  2. […] A new peace update. I purchased a shirt in Key Largo last weekend that includes a saying I really love. And, as what […]

  3. […] committed to using one little word – peace – as I move through 2009. This is a project inspired by Ali […]

Leave a Reply

