• Twitter

  • 20something Bloggers

  • Categories

  • Flickr Photos

    more faves

    recent faves

    flowers!

    bed

    Ponce Inlet lighthouse

    stairs

    More Photos

The Year in Review – 2008

I sure hope everyone had a very Merry Christmas! I saw this idea for a post at Because I Said So, Dawn Meehan’s blog, and it made me think about my own year. So, here you have it.

1. What did you do in 2008 that you’d never done before? I designed a logo, I attended a charity ball, and I wore a bridesmaid dress twice after the wedding!

2. Did you keep your New Years’ resolutions, and will you make more for next year? I didn’t make resolutions in 2008, and I don’t think I’m making them for 2009 either. More like mini-goals. Baby steps.

3. Did anyone close to you give birth? No, but my cousin is due anydaynow.

4. Did anyone close to you die? Thankfully, no.

5. What countries did you visit? None.

6. What would you like to have in 2009 that you lacked in 2008? More sleep, more exercise.

7. What dates from 2008 will remain etched upon your memory? March 24 – the day I started my new job. October 30 because I was flying to Boston for my birthday. November 4 because history was made.

8. What was your biggest achievement of the year? Getting my job!

9. What was your biggest failure? Not sticking with my exercise program.

10. Did you suffer illness or injury? Illness in April – sinus infection gunk; no severe injuries just off and on back and knee pain from soccer/sports.

11. What was the best thing you bought? Without a doubt, the camera that Kevin and I got for each other for Christmas.

12. Whose behavior merited celebration? Do birthdays count? If so then we celebrated many times!

13. Whose behavior made you appalled and depressed? Several politicians.

14. Where did most of your money go? My car and my debts (mostly medical).

15. What did you get really, really, really excited about? Playing soccer on a league for the first time since high school. Barack Obama being elected the 44th President. Going to Boston for my birthday. Purchasing the new camera (I promise I’m not being paid to endorse this camera!)

16. What song/album will always remind you of 2008? that Jason Mraz song that’s always on the radio when I turn on my car.. “I’m Yours.” Leona Lewis, “Bleeding Love.” Taylor Swift, “Love Story.” For some reason I’m drawing a blank now! Ask again later.

17. Compared to this time last year, are you: happier/sadder, thinner/heavier, richer/poorer? Happier/same weight/richer. Dang, not doing too bad now, am I?

18. What do you wish you’d done more of? I wish I would’ve slept more. Exercised more. I wish I could’ve seen my MI friends more.

19. What do you wish you’d done less of? Spent meaningless time on the internet.

20. How will you be spending Christmas? I spent it in Ft. Lauderdale area with bf’s family and then headed down to Key Largo. Talked to family. Texted friends. Ate.

21. Who did you spend the most time on the phone with? Mom or dad.

22. Did you fall in love in 2008? Nope, fell for Kevin last year 🙂

23. What was your favorite TV program? Grey’s Anatomy. Although it really needs to get better. And soon.

24. Do you hate anyone now that you didn’t hate this time last year? No, it takes too much effort to hate someone.

25. What was the best book(s) you read? In the Woods, The Last LectureThe Audacity of Hope, Lucky Man: A Memoir. To name a few. Check out my book blog for others.

26. What was your greatest musical discovery? I stumbled upon Matt Nathanson and love his music.

27. What did you want and get? A new camera!

28. What did you want and not get? Nothing that I can think of?

29. What were your favorite films this year? It’s not new but I just saw it this year – The Life of David Gale; Sex & The City was really good. Still can’t wait to see The Dark Knight.

30. What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you? Went to Boston! Turned 25.

31. What’s one more thing that would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying? I am not sure I have an answer to this question.

32. How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2008? I’d say it’s evolving. Just like myself. I definitely started dressing more professionally, more than I ever have in the past.

33. What kept you sane? Reading. Blogging. Playing soccer. Being with Kevin + Jak and friends. Talking to family and far-away friends.

34. Which celebrity/public figure did you fancy the most? Urgh I love Tom Brady but I just heard he got engaged to Gisele.

35. What political issue stirred you the most? The election in general really stirred me.

36. Who did you miss? Family + friends in Michigan.

37. Who was the best new person you met? Probably Shannon, my soccer team captain. She’s amazing! Also some other lovelies from soccer. Some friends from YPG.

38. Tell us a valuable lesson you learned in 2008. I learned how to make a mean pasta. How to shoot some photos. How to use some design programs. All of these are valuable. Gosh, what else did I learn!?

39. Quote a song lyric that sums up your year: I can’t say that one song sums up my year. It’s more like moments that sum up my year, and each moment has a song. I’d have to give you my entire itunes playlist!

Edited to add my goals for 2009:

LAUGH more, LOVE more, CAPTURE more, READ more, EXERCISE more, CREATE more.

Leave a Reply

