• Twitter

  • 20something Bloggers

  • Categories

  • Flickr Photos

Getting in the Christmas spirit

Hello lovely readers, I bet you are on to me by now. You know when I’m really busy because I only post quotes or photos. Bear with me here. I’m sure I’m not the only one with a gazillion things going on! Like holiday parties…

Tonight k squared will be attending our first holiday party of the season. I have been in the holiday spirit for awhile now (I think I’ve been listening to Christmas music since before Thanksgiving…yikes!) but tonight just gets me even more excited! There’s something about getting dressed up and being surrounded by tall Christmas trees and friends and tons of red. I have loved Christmas, I mean loved it, since I was a little girl. Even after I found out about Santa. I just love the lights, the sounds, the snow (yeah, I miss it, but only for Christmas!) and the festive mood. I like decorating and I love wrapping presents. And I sure love the parties!

This year I’m trying to be more meaningful in my thoughts, my gifts, my events. It’s hard lately with the economy the way it is, to splurge and all, but I am so thankful for the camera we purchased together because I can see it bringing us joy for years. That’s what makes me most happy this holiday season – that I will be capturing joy.

The one thing missing from my holidays this year will be the presence of my family. But they will be getting lots of pictures and phone calls and cards, and this post is not meant to be depressing, right? I can only hope and plan for a Michigan Christmas next year (perhaps then plane tickets won’t cost upwards of $600 per person).

So tell me, what are you excited for? What do the holidays mean to you?

5 Responses

  1. I’m utterly shocked that you did not mention Holiday food, and all the baked goodies in your list of “loves” during the festive season. Anyone who knows you will notice that omission.
    I am excited and thankful for my K SQUARED (my favorite Katie and favorite Kristie), that they both have wonderful jobs/career’s, are able and motivated to take care of themselves, are very thoughtful and giving human beings and are spending the Holidays where they want or need to be with people who care for them as much as I do.

  2. Thanks for your very first comment Mom!

    You are correct about the food, and what an omission that was! Clearly the only reason I forgot to add FOOD to my list is because I was full from breakfast. But for the record, nothing tops your holiday baked goods…you are sending me some, right?! 🙂

  3. Well, the most superficial thing I’m thankful for is that, on the east side, we don’t get nearly as much snow as Kzoo and Grand Rapids! I have such anxiety about driving on bad roads, but it’s a whole different world over here.

    I, too, love the Christmas atmosphere and how it inspires more family togetherness. I don’t know where I’d be without them.

    It’s sad you won’t be in Michigan for Christmas, but I hope you’ll take lots and lots of pictures with your new camera because I love browsing them! 🙂

  4. You know the goodies will be on their way shortly.

  5. Erica – I’m glad you no longer have to make the trek on those horrible west MI roads, and scraping the car before class! I definitely don’t miss that!

Leave a Reply

