• Twitter

  • 20something Bloggers

  • Categories

  • Flickr Photos

    more faves

    recent faves

    flowers!

    bed

    Ponce Inlet lighthouse

    stairs

    More Photos

“So, what do you do?” or rather, “What did you do?”

In the last month or so, I think I have been asked about a dozen times “so what did you do before this?” (THIS being my current job. In business. More specifically, economic development. Non-profit. That’s all you’re getting.) And sometimes I just say “I was in child care” because I always get the “HUH?!” when I tell them I was a nanny. I don’t know if people just don’t understand “nanny” or they don’t think it’s a ‘real job.’

For the record, it IS a real job. A real hard job. Although a very rewarding job. Shaping the life of a child is commendable no matter who you are to that kid – mother, father, teacher, care giver. But I think people question why I chose to move 1,200 miles away for a job as a nanny. I understand people’s curiosity, but sometimes there is judgment, and that’s the part that bothers me.

So why did I move 1,200 miles from family + friends + everything I knew?

In two words: for change.

I went to high school in Otsego, Michigan, a tiny little dot on the map in southwest Michigan. I then moved about 20 minutes away to Kalamazoo, where I lived for 5 years and attended Western Michigan University. I knew Kalamazoo like the back of my hand, and although I had my entire family and most of my friends in the area, I wanted a change for myself. I wasn’t sure I could picture myself staying in the area, raising a family and never seeing or experiencing life in another area. As I was nearing graduation in the spring of 2006, I applied to over 50 jobs across the US in journalism and similiar fields, but I didn’t hear from a single company.

On a whim one night, I was searching nanny position on GoNannies.com, where I made a profile. Incase you were wondering, this wasn’t just a hair-brained, crazy idea from left field. (I actually have tons of experience with kids; I started babysitting when I was 12, including babies, I tutored Spanish to 2 elementary-aged girls for a couple years in college, I was a Big Sister with Big Brothers Big Sisters for 2 years in college, and when I was 15 I spent the summer watching 4 kids under the age of 7.)  I had an idea in my head that I could possibly find a position and maybe I would go back to school or freelance somewhere while I worked. I made a profile on the site, advertising for a position as a nanny, but I really didn’t expect it to go far.

Shockingly, I got 5 emails and phone calls within 2 weeks. One position was offered to me in New Jersey, and one just outside of D.C., both of which I turned down for several reasons, none of which I really want to get into. I also turned down a position in Kansas, mostly because I wasn’t sure there was anything of interest to me in that area. I got a crazy offer from a single dad in south Florida, but there was no way I was taking that; the whole situation gave me the creeps – the fact that the guy was ready to fly me down to stay with his kids, but I didn’t know anything about them and he didn’t even want a background check on me blew my mind! During all of these interviews, I was recovering from my first foot surgery and completely bored out of my mind. I was also prepping for my role as bridesmaid in my roommate’s wedding, and decided I was going to give it more time in Kalamazoo. I was actually going to delete my profile from the GoNannies site when I got a call from a nanny agency in Jacksonville, Florida. The owner has friends or employees scour the internet for potential nannies for clients, and someone stumbled upon my profile and suggested a job in Daytona Beach.

After several interviews with the family, a short flight to Daytona, and a few short weeks later, I was packing up my college apartment. I think my family and friends were a little taken aback by the news, but most of them knew deep down I would not remain in Michigan my whole life. My parents were both happy for me, but sad to see me leave. I said goodbye to all my friends in a couple days, which was more painful than I could have imagined. Of course, I’d be seeing them again, but it was just so weird to be leaving people I grew up with. It was like an out of body experience, I was hugging them and crying and saying goodbye in the present, but I knew I’d be fine once I was in Florida.

And I was.

But life as I knew it was over. I moved 1,200 miles from everyone and everything I knew. I didn’t know anyone in Florida besides the family I’d be working for. I didn’t know anything about the area, except that I was thrilled to be surrounded by palm trees and living 15 minutes from the ocean. I didn’t know how to get around – I’m not very good with directions – and I didn’t know where the cool spots were.

It was definitely a challenge but it taught me how to be okay by myself. I was very lonely the first few months, and I flew through books because I didn’t have any friends or anywhere to go when I got off work. But things were not as hard as I expected. I didn’t lay in bed crying at night. I missed my family, but I just talked to them more on the phone. I bonded quickly and easily with the family (still love them) and I learned my way around town. I met a couple nice friends, who introduced me to other nice people, and eventually, Kevin.

It was the bravest thing I have ever done.

And as they say, the rest is history.

2 Responses

  1. Good for you. That’s all I have to say, really. Good for you.

  2. This was a very interesting post, and I must say, you are far braver than me! It sounds like it was a once-in-a-lifetime opportunity, and it’s paid off for you, which is fantastic 🙂

Leave a Reply

