• Twitter

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • 20something Bloggers

  • Categories

  • Flickr Photos

that was a VP speech?!

Consider yourself warned – if you are a fan of Sarah Palin, you may not like what follows.

Her speech last night left me with one big thought – HUH? I don’t understand McCain’s choice here. She spent more time discussing her family and taking cheap shots at the opponents – some of which were just truly in bad taste. I didn’t hear Obama making outlandish remarks about McCain or his history. Instead, why not focus completely on what you bring to the table? Most of her words just reiterrated that I just don’t think she’s ready for this. The McCain campaign has routinely claimed that Obama does not have enough political experience to win the White House. And some say “but it’s the Presidential pick that really matters.”

Well, no it’s not. See, this is a VICE PRESIDENTIAL pick. As in, you step up in the absence of the leader. As in, the President dies and YOU TAKE OVER. ON A MOMENT’S NOTICE. She is not ready for this.

And let me just pull out one comment that really irked me. Palin said “America needs more energy…our opponent is against producing it.” Pretty sure that’s a flat out lie. Obama has pledged $150 billion over the next 10 years to invest in energy sources.

And what about the camera shots of Cindy McCain cradling the Palin’s youngest son, Trig, who was born with Down syndrome? Now I do realize exactly what it’s like to care for a special needs child, because I have done so. But when you tell the media to back off, that your family is off-limits in this campaign, do not discuss your family in detail simply to fire back, or make a move like this with Cindy McCain cradling your child in front of millions of viewers. How about not saying anything at all, and really dropping the issue, just as you wish the media would do?

As far as trying to get Hillary’s supporters, Palin is no match – there is really no comparison whatsoever. I’m not a Hillary supporter, but I at least support many of her views, so I can’t see how Democrats could really change their minds and go from Clinton to Palin.

Considering how much time she spent on preparing this speech, it was not up to par.

6 Responses

  1. Confession. I truly had every intention of watching the republican convention this week. But, I can’t do it. I can’t listen to the speeches. I can’t see Bush’s face…I can’t hear his voice. I can’t see Palin without just shaking my head in utter confusion about McCain’s choice in her as a running mate. I can’t listen to McCain. I just don’t want to hear it.

    The DNC was so fantastic last week. I cried during nearly every one of the ‘big’ speeches (SOBBED almost the whole time during Barack’s…tearing up now!). It was such an uplifting week of inspiration and hope. I don’t want to lose that feeling by being furious watching the republicans speak. Sigh. I just want to live my happy bubble where Obama is already our President! 🙂

  2. Apparently I don’t have any self restraint. I didn’t want to watch because I knew I’d get fired up. I didn’t want to blog about it because it’s really political and I don’t want my blog to be all political but…I couldn’t help it. She’s not qualified and she certainly can’t deliver.

    As much as I really don’t want to watch McCain’s speech, I know I will. I’m that bad, I just have to see it.

  3. Maybe I’ll watch it at some point. I don’t know! UGH! I’m trying so hard to be more informed during this election, and I know that involves knowing what the other side has to say. But I really don’t like nausea. And I don’t enjoy getting so wound up that I want to stand atop a table and start yelling! LOL!

    Maybe I should at least see McCain’s speech. Perhaps.

    We’ll see. Sigh!!!

  4. Kate – I am interested in seeing the link! You can email it to me at cruark at gmail dot com. I am purposely not watching McCain’s speech tonight because I got so mad at Palin last night I changed the channel to Top Design and donated money I couldn’t afford to Obama 🙂

  5. Ah! I agree so much! Did you notice the total lack of any people of color in the audience? I’m pretty sure Palin didn’t even write that speech……I read her speechwriter is also George W’s speechwriter…..

  6. Jodie – yes I did. It’s apparent McCain’s crowd lacks diversity. They also lack enthusiasm. And you are correct, the speech was written by Bush’s speechwriter.

Leave a Reply

