• Twitter

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • 20something Bloggers

  • Categories

  • Flickr Photos

How often do you read?

So in my trip to Publix last night, I picked up a magazine, and another couple came in the mail today. Flipping through the latest issue of SELF (check out J-Lo’s triathlon training, by the way!), I came across a small, interesting blurb about reading:

People who habitually read magazines and newspapers may have better critical reasoning skills, according to a study from Lebanon Valley College in Annville, Pennsylvania. Researchers believe that’s because these readers learn to rely on hard facts to draw their conclusions.

I think this is true to an extent. I read the local newspaper everyday, as well as The Wall Street Journal and The New York Times almost daily. I also subscribe to a couple magazines, pick up random ones that entice me as I’m waiting in line at the grocery store, and I’m always reading a book of some sort. Actually, I’m sitting right next to a pile of magazines I’ve been reading for the past couple of days…the newest Glamour, Everyday with Rachael Ray (love the recipes!), ELLE, InStyle, and the above mentioned SELF. I’m also currently reading Let the Northern Lights Erase Your Name by Vendela Vida, a really great read. Not to mention all the blogs I read daily…but we are getting away from magazines and newspapers here. Still, I do think that continuous reading provides information one otherwise wouldn’t have known.

I do, however, think that at a certain point one can suffer from information overload, something that happens to me at least once a week. You know the feeling – you can’t concentrate on what you’re reading because you have been reading all day, whether it be the newspaper, blogs, the online news report, whatever. There comes a point when I have to step away from everything and stop reading.

So, be honest – how often do you read? And what do you read?

2 Responses

  1. I can honestly say…I read EVERY day! I’m not a big fan of newpsapers or magazines. It’s all about books for me! I always have a book going at home. And usually one in my purse for “lunchtime at work” reading and “when I’m stuck somewhere for at least 30 seconds and can get a page read reading”. And audio. Love the audio book. There’s always an audio book in the car.

    OK. I shouldn’t say I don’t like magazines. I have the attention span of a gnat, and if I’m downstairs and there’s a TV…I’m not going to pay attention to a magazine. I’m an upstairs, read a book in bed girl (where there is no TV). 🙂

  2. With the amount of RSS and blogs I read, I generally hit the news about the same time the news agencies are getting it. So four or so days later when someone in the office mentions a news item or new trend I can smile to myself and think “Gosh, that’s old news.”

    😉

Leave a Reply

