• Twitter

  • 20something Bloggers

  • Categories

  • Flickr Photos

    more faves

    recent faves

    flowers!

    bed

    Ponce Inlet lighthouse

    stairs

    More Photos

the calm before the storm

Tropical Storm Fay is headed to Florida. It’s projected to hit the Florida Keys tomorrow. Guess where I was this weekend? Yup, my favorite vacation spot, Key Largo.

My boyfriend and I headed there Thursday after work to celebrate his birthday, but our visit was cut short. We woke up about 8:30 this morning to a manditory evacuation notice for visitors & tourists in the Keys. We made it back home (near Daytona Beach) in RECORD time and are now bracing ourselves for this rapidly changing storm.

True confession: I’m a little excited! I moved to central Florida from Michigan 2 years ago and this is my first major storm. I know, I know, you’re thinking, Is she crazy?  Well, maybe. At the moment it is not projected to be a direct hit. But I imagine my excitement would be swallowed by fear if we were in the direct line. Which we very well could be, only time will tell.

The bad part is that if the storm does take the current projected path, central Florida is in the north east corner of the storm, which is a bad place to be. This is where the rapid, really strong tornadoes form. Click here to see projected paths. (My house is at approximately 27 degrees N latitude.)

I will most likely be experiencing torrential rain in about 48 to 72 hours, but right now it’s very hot and humid outside…and very still.

Leave a Reply

